How Asexual Awareness Week Redefined My Queer Activism

Check out my guess post on the National LGBTQ Task Force’s blog about Asexual Awareness Week and challenging what it means to be a queer activist.

National LGBTQ Task Force Blog

During Asexual Awareness Week we celebrate the asexual community, also known as the “ace” community, and challenge ourselves to incorporate asexuality into our advocacy work. Asexuality is a sexual orientation describing people who do not experience sexual attraction, and asexual or “ace” are umbrella terms for a spectrum of identities including demisexual and gray-asexual.

Asexual Awareness Flag with "Asexual Pirates are not interested in your booty" from Asexual Pirate on Tumblr

Even though I believed myself to be a well-informed queer activist on a college campus, I had never heard of the ace community before last year. However, during my time as a fellow with the National LGBTQ Task Force, I had the opportunity to research the history of asexuality and the formation of the ace movement as well as to interview prominent movement leaders. What I learned truly redefined how I saw myself as a queer activist and showed me that, as an advocate, I am never done learning.

Part…

View original post 670 more words

Leave a Reply

